TIAA Institute Honors STC President’s Leadership


TIAA Institute Honors STC President’s Leadership

Shirley ReedSouth Texas College President Dr. Shirley A. Reed is the recipient of the 2020 Theodore M. Hesburgh Award for Leadership Excellence in Higher Education. The award recognizes college or university presidents or chancellors who have demonstrated outstanding leadership qualities.

Reed is the founding president of South Texas College, devoting the last 26 years to making higher education accessible to the Latinx community of South Texas. Through Reed’s leadership, STC serves many who did not previously have access to a community college. STC now consists of five campuses, a virtual campus, and 127 degree and certificate programs.

“I am humbled to be associated with the transformational educator, Father Hesburgh,” said Reed. “He would have been proud of the achievement of South Texas College in transforming a region that suffered from a legacy of neglect and social injustice into a vibrant and critical economic leader for the future of the state of Texas and the entire nation.”

About the Theodore M. Hesburgh Award

The Theodore M. Hesburgh Award is a partnership between TIAA Institute and the American Council on Education. Rev. Theodore M. Hesburgh was the past president of the University of Notre Dame. The world-renowned educator and humanitarian was also a lifelong champion of human rights, the cause of peace, and care of the poor.