Preservation Awards Nominations Enter Final Days


Preservation Awards Nominations Enter Final Days

THC Preservation Awards
(photo THC)

Only 10 days remain to nominate an individual or organization for their contributions to preserving Texas’ heritage. The Texas Historical Commission offers awards to recognize both worthy accomplishments and exemplary leadership in preserving Texas history. The deadline for submissions for the 2019 THC Preservation Awards is July 12.

The THC is accepting nominations for the following historic preservation awards

  • Governor’s Award for Historic Preservation
  • John L. Nau III Award of Excellence in Museums
  • Ruth Lester Lifetime Achievement Award
  • John Ben Shepperd County Historical Commission Leadership Award
  • George Christian Outstanding Volunteer of the Year Award
  • THC Award of Excellence in Preserving History
  • Curtis D. Tunnell Lifetime Achievement Award in Archeology
  • THC Award of Excellence in Historic Architecture
  • Anice B. Read Award of Excellence in Community Heritage Development
  • THC Award of Excellence in Media Achievement.

Winners of the awards will come at a decision at the Commission’s October 2019 Quarterly Meeting. All nominees will receive notification of their status shortly afterward. Most of the awards will be presented at the THC’s Real Places conference in January 2020. The THC will then present its most prestigious award, the Governor’s Award for Historic Preservation, at a special ceremony arranged with the staff of the Governor’s Office. 

Anyone may submit a nomination in accordance with the guidelines presented below each award as listed at The THC also offers the Award of Merit, which recognizes the efforts and contributions of a group or individual involved in preserving Texas’ cultural and historic resources. Nominations for this award may be submitted anytime throughout the year.

For more information, contact the THC’s History Programs Division at 512-463-5853.